Tuesday, September 19, 2017

The Animated Addict: "How to Train Your Dragon 2" (2014)


Before there was Pixar producing phenomenal computer animated movies, there was Dreamworks.

"How to Train Y our Dragon 2" isn't a bad movie.  It's not what I would consider one of Dreamwork's better pieces, but it's not a bad movie.

I really enjoyed the first one, but couldn't quite focus on this installment in the series.

The visuals are fantastic.  I really liked how they actually put thought into how the characters would look as they aged.  They look the age they're supposed to be.  Also the environmental design is amazing.  Great lighting and shading, and wonderful texturing.  A visually beautiful film.

The camera work helps to enhance the look.  A great blend of standard steady shots, with swooping angles and movements.

The voice acting was also pretty good, too.  The voices matched the personalities of the characters perfectly.  I also really liked the characters as well.  They were interesting and unique from each other- with each character having their own "moment" to shine as well.

Unfortunately, the story wasn't as engaging for me as the first film.  I liked the addition to Hiccup's backstory regarding his mother- but the rest of it was pretty much just a repeat of the original story.  It made it hard to focus on what was happening.  I even found myself comtemplating what sort of thoughts a cheesy poof might have in its bag.

In fact, I found the short film "Dawn of the Dragon Racers" in the special features more interesting story-wise.

"How to Train Your Dragon 2" would be good for a single viewing- but sad to say, not much more than that.  I'm going to have to put it in "The Bad".

Friday, September 15, 2017

Jamie Lee Curtis returns to Halloween

The Halloween franchise is a strange universe indeed, having been retconned and reimagined several times in its 39-year history.

Well, today big news hit about another huge twist in the franchise -- Jamie Lee Curtis will return in the next Halloween film . . . and she's playing Laurie Strode!!

Monday, September 11, 2017

Mike S's Top Five War Movies That Deserve a Remake


With the recent release of "Dunkirk", we've seen that war movies still have a place in cinema and that people WILL watch them.

With that in mind, here are my top five war movies that I'd like to see a remake of:

Sunday, September 10, 2017

Why It is so good

By now, many, many people have seen the big-screen adaptation of Stephen King's It. To the tune of $117 million -- the largest opening for a horror movie ever.

There are a lot of reasons for It's success (see what I did there?). It's arguably King's best-known work, and most liked. So that plays a big part. And the movie was well marketed by Warner Bros. and New Line Cinema.

Tuesday, September 5, 2017

Mike S versus Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them (2016)


Normally, I'd write something witty at the start of a review, and a quick synopsis of the plot.  Today however, I'm going to skip that and get to the meat of my review of 2016's "Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them".

I really love the Harry Potter books (I read "The Deathly Hallows" in one sitting), and really enjoyed the movies.

Monday, August 21, 2017

Second Chances: Mulholland Drive (2001)


Sometimes we come across a movie we felt something the first time we watch, but on second viewing a few years later, we find that our opinion changes.  Movies we didn't like sometimes get a second chance to impress us.

Often, they don't... but sometimes, they do.

Sunday, August 20, 2017

Life Vs. Alien: Covenant - The Alien Showdown

There were two big alien-themed releases this year. One was the latest chapter in a much-revered franchise, the other a start-studded, science-based work of original sci-fi.

On this episode, Jason, Shawn, Amy and special guest Nathan Bosa tackle Life and Alien: Covenant, and determine which is best.

Friday, August 18, 2017

Weekly Roundup: The Punisher teaser, Justice League "unwatchable" and that Obi-Wan Kenobi movie

Alright, the weekend is upon us and everyone's focused on some well-deserved R and R, and probably a liquor drink or six. But before we let you go -- at least until the next episode drops on Sunday -- we've got a few news items for your eye and ear holes.

First up, how about that teaser for Netflix and Marvel's The Punisher that debuted at the tail end of The Defenders?

Thursday, August 17, 2017

It's an alien showdown!

A new episode was recorded in The Basement this eve, one that pits opinions against two big alien-themed releases from earlier this year.

In one corner, the Ryan Reynolds/Jake Gyllenhaal/Rebecca Ferguson flick Life. In the other, the Alien/Prometheus prequel/sequel Alien: Covenant.

Wednesday, August 16, 2017

Jason versus Lake Bodom

In the summer of 1960, four teenagers were brutally murdered on the shores of Finland's Lake Bodom. The killer was never caught. True story.

Now we've got a creepy as fuck Finnish horror flick that uses these murders as a springboard for an off-the-walls horror flick that deserves to be ranked among the best of the genre.