Sunday, August 20, 2017

Life Vs. Alien: Covenant - The Alien Showdown

There were two big alien-themed releases this year. One was the latest chapter in a much-revered franchise, the other a start-studded, science-based work of original sci-fi.

On this episode, Jason, Shawn, Amy and special guest Nathan Bosa tackle Life and Alien: Covenant, and determine which is best.

Friday, August 18, 2017

Weekly Roundup: The Punisher teaser, Justice League "unwatchable" and that Obi-Wan Kenobi movie

Alright, the weekend is upon us and everyone's focused on some well-deserved R and R, and probably a liquor drink or six. But before we let you go -- at least until the next episode drops on Sunday -- we've got a few news items for your eye and ear holes.

First up, how about that teaser for Netflix and Marvel's The Punisher that debuted at the tail end of The Defenders?

Thursday, August 17, 2017

It's an alien showdown!

A new episode was recorded in The Basement this eve, one that pits opinions against two big alien-themed releases from earlier this year.

In one corner, the Ryan Reynolds/Jake Gyllenhaal/Rebecca Ferguson flick Life. In the other, the Alien/Prometheus prequel/sequel Alien: Covenant.

Wednesday, August 16, 2017

Jason versus Lake Bodom

In the summer of 1960, four teenagers were brutally murdered on the shores of Finland's Lake Bodom. The killer was never caught. True story.

Now we've got a creepy as fuck Finnish horror flick that uses these murders as a springboard for an off-the-walls horror flick that deserves to be ranked among the best of the genre.

Animated Godzilla flick streaming to Netflix

Shawn and Mike S have given me the gears for years about not being a fan of animation. Shawn loves the animated DC movies, and by now all of you should be familiar with Mike S's Animated Addict columns here in The Basement.

Me? I have a hard time getting emotionally engaged in a story that's presented as a cartoon. Loved 'em as a kid, but not so much in the last 25 years or so. Cartoons leave me cold.

However, that might be about to change.

Tuesday, August 15, 2017

A new clip from indie horror The Ice Cream Truck

I vaguely remember being excited whenever the ice cream truck rolled through our neighbourhood when I was boy. Looking back, it's a nostalgic moment from my youth, and almost unheard of in this day and age.

Which kinda makes sense, because as an adult, there's something unsettling about the canned, cheery music and a grown man luring children to his vehicle with the promise of tasty treats.

Monday, August 14, 2017

The Animated Addict: "Batman: Return of the Caped Crusaders" (2016)


Mike S back with another animated review!  This time, in honor of the late, great Adam West, I'm going to be discussing DC's 2016 release, "Batman: The Return of the Caped Crusaders"!

When DC relaunched their comics under the banner of "The New 52", they produced a few series that weren't part of the new continuity.  One of them was "Batman '66"- which was based on the old 1960's Batman TV series starring Adam West (as Batman/Bruce Wayne), and Burt Ward (as Robin/Dick Grayson).  If you get the chance- check out a few of the issues, they're quite fun and really encapsulated the spirit of the show.

Sunday, August 13, 2017

Jason versus Annabelle: Creation

We all know there are a lot of bad horror movies out there that make some serious bank. Horror fans love the genre, and will pretty much go and see anything because they're starved for new content, inadvertently creating hits.

But sometimes . . . just sometimes . . . a sequel to a crap horror movie can exceed the original in every way. Or, as has been the case recently, a prequel.

Friday, August 11, 2017

The Drunken Review: King Arthur: Legend of the Sword

Jay here. It's Friday night. I've had a glass of red wine, three Rum and Cokes and a bunch of beer . . . and I just watched King Arthur: Legend of the Sword. How does all this come together? Stick with me!

First off, I'm convinced lamestream film critics and the general movie audiences are a bunch of idiots.  How did Guy Ritchie's take on the King Arthur legend only gross $140 million worldwide and run a deficit. That's just stupid to me!

An evil Elmo is on the loose in Puppet Killer

OK, it's not THE Elmo every child from the 90s adored, but the "loveable" Sesame Street character is the first thing I thought of when I watched the trailer for the upcoming horror flick Puppet Killer.

And hey, if you can't kill Elmo, you might as well have him whack a bunch of people in an indie horror movie!

Produced by former Basement guest and constant Scream Queen Jessica Cameron, Puppet Killer is about a group of six friends stalked by a killer who's obsessed with horror movie icons during Christmas vacation.